Vegetarianism involves the practice of following a diet that includes vegetables, fruits, cereal grains, nuts, and seeds, with or without dairy products or eggs.
A vegetarian does not eat meat, including game, poultry, fish, shellfish and crustacea, and may also abstain from by-products of animal slaughter such as animal-derived rennet and gelatin.
Vegetarianism can be adopted for different reasons: In addition to ethical reasons, some reasons for vegetarianism include health, religious, political, cultural, aesthetic or economic, and there are varieties of the diet:
An ovo-vegetarian diet includes eggs but not dairy products, a lacto-vegetarian diet includes dairy products but not eggs, and an ovo-lacto vegetarian diet includes both eggs and dairy products.
A vegan diet excludes all animal products, such as eggs, dairy, and honey.